About Us

Announcing the Eight Finalist Plays for the Second Annual 8x10 TheatreFest

Thursday, May 31, 2012 8:46:00 AM

Weathervane Playhouse received 150 submissions from talented and creative playwrights from across the country. It was truly difficult to arrive at the Final Eight Finalist Plays, but after many readings and a lot of discussion, we arrived at the following:

A Life-Time Warranty by Maureen Ann Connolly of Cumberland Foreside, Maine

Duet in Platinum by Allston James of New York City

Goodnight, Sweet Prince by Barbara Bleier of New York City

How Dick & Jane Fell in Love by Lina Gallegos of Dallas, Texas

Rules of Comedy by Patricia Cotter of San Francisco, California

The Bingo King by James Caputo of San Diego, California

The Silver Bullet by Joe Lauinger of Ossining, New York

Waiting for Baby by Christina Blosco of Norton, Ohio

Get your tickets now for the 2012 8x10 TheatreFest at Weathervane Playhouse — July 13 to 15. We’ll present three performances of all eight Finalist plays on Friday, Saturday at 8 p.m. and Sunday at 2:30 p.m. Guest judges will determine the first- and second-place winners – but the audience will vote for the Fan Favorite Award! Winners will be announced and prizes awarded following Sunday’s matinee.

The first 8x10 TheatreFest was a “hot ticket” in 2011 and we expect it to be again this year. Tickets are only $10, so book now to guarantee a seat! Call the Weathervane Box Office at 330-836-2626 or CLICK HERE to buy your tickets online.

► Interested in directing a Finalist play? Or acting in one? If you want to get involved in an exciting theater project this summer (without a huge time commitment!), please send your resumes and inquiries to 8x10 TheatreFest Coordinator Eileen Moushey at 10minuteplay@weathervaneplayhouse.com. We will also be holding auditions on THURSDAY, JUNE 7 at 7 p.m. at the Playhouse for roles of both genders, ages 20-70. Contact Eileen if you have questions. 

The 2012 8x10 TheatreFest Performance Dates and Times
Friday, July 13, 2012 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, July 14, 2012 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, July 15, 2012 at 2:30 p.m.
Winners announced at the post-performance reception on July 15

$10 each (general-admission seating)

Share This Using Popular Bookmarking Services
Back to Top